I’m feeling..

I haven’t done any writing in a long time. Not really on purpose, not really too busy, just not really wanting to, but really wanting to at the same time.  That probably makes sense to some.
I guess I feel like unless I’m going through some big storm and have words of wisdom to share, I should keep quiet. Because my life, well it’s pretty good right now. No one wants to hear about that. They only want to hear about your misery. Oh evil one, be quiet.
So the job that I loved went away, the company sold the offices I managed, new folks came in and at first I thought I would be okay. It became pretty apparent very soon in that it was not at all going to be okay and definitely not a good fit and besides, they had no intention of keeping me, except to smooth the way with the staff and customers. They weren’t real slick in their communications and I did come across several items and slips of the tongues that laid it out for me. That’s business, I guess. But it was also my life, or a big part of it. I had to let it go and take a substantial cut in salary in the process.
Here’s the thing, I don’t seem to be wanting for anything. God was encouraging me to take a big slice of humble pie and get off of my “I’m a big deal” mountain because friends, I was not that at all. There is only room for ONE who is ALL THAT and the center of it all and it’s NOT ME!  
God sometimes needs to strip us of ourselves so we can begin to see Himself. God shows us that there is no way we can fly this life plane with Jesus as our Co-Pilot because we’re going to crash and burn. JESUS is our pilot.
Our identity is never in ourselves but is always rooted in Christ.
So for my career I’ve been placed back with the great company that I was with before the new company bought us, but in a much lessor role. I’ll admit this, going in I wondered how I was going to hack it. I’m now four months in and I am hacking it quite well. I am overwhelmed with blessing and peace in my life. Joy, unexplainable, incomprehensible, and entirely undeserving fills my spirit.  
It’s not the world that makes us who we are or has the right to define us by job titles and six figured incomes. Remember that as children of the Most High God, we are definitely not of this world. Our title, position, inheritance is in Heaven. So despite our situations we are called to be like Jesus, who is the Light of the World, the Salt of the earth.
Sometimes it is easier than others. Jesus never said we would have an easy life when we accepted Him into our hearts. In fact, He said it would be very hard. That we would be persecuted, hated, rejected. But by those acts, we are BLESSED, for ours is the Kingdom of Heaven. (Matthew Ch. 5)
So let’s work on being bright, flavorful, and most importantly, GRATEFUL, for great is our reward. Stop for just a moment, and think about what we know of Heaven. It’s a pretty incredible place. God our Father can’t wait to show it to us. That place, it’s for us!
The other comment I want to make is this. If you’re a parent, you’ve no doubt experienced a sulking and ungrateful child. Think of a time when you had something so fantastic planned for your child and they just were being brats. It hurts our hearts. I imagine our Heavenly Father feels the same sadness in His heart when He gifts us with a mere morsel of His bigger plan for us and we’re acting like thankless children.
I want to have more gratitude in my heart for His blessings. I want to make my heart and very pleasing place for His Holy Spirit to reside. Thank you, Jesus.

4 thoughts on “I’m feeling..

    • I’ve thought about it a lot actually. I want to write a book that combines the 4 gospels and in chronological order with some fictional characterization based on what the Lord would reveal to me. I’m sure this has been done many times over, it would be just for my own faith journey and biblical study.

Leave a comment